Missions Council


The Missions Council serves as an elected advisory council to the CBF Governing Board. In this role, the Missions Council provides vision, strategy, education and sustainability to CBF’s mission enterprise. The officers and members of the Missions Council are listed below:



Chris Ellis - Chair
Minister of Missions, Second Baptist Church
Little Rock, Ark.


Christy Edwards - Past Chair
Laity, Second Baptist Church
Liberty, Mo.


Randy Shepley - Chair Elect
Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church
Newport News, Va.


Alyssa Aldape
Associate Pastor for Young Adult and Youth Ministries, First Baptist Church of the City
Washington, D.C.


Melanie Claypool
Executive, Passport Health Plan
Louisville, Ky.


Sharon Felton
Minister of Youth and Students, Faith Baptist Church
Georgetown, Ky.


Jesus Garcia
Pastor, Iglesia Bautista de Metropolis
Carolina, Puerto Rico


Lauren Hovis
Grants and Contracts Manager, ActionAid
Washington, D.C.


Dani Jones
Minister of Music and Education, Heritage Baptist Church, Heflin, Ala.
Adjunct Professor of Music, Jacksonville State University, Jacksonville, Ala.


Diane Lipsett
Minister of Faith Formation and Education, Knollwood Baptist Church
Winston-Salem, N.C


Scott Miles
Vice President, Haverty's Corporation
Alpharetta, Ga.


John Moore
Pastor for Missions, First Baptist Church
Abilene, Texas


Heather Mustain
Minister of Missions and Advocacy, Wilshire Baptist Church
Dallas, Texas